Anxiety, jou Bliksem!

A personal story about anxiety.

Yve's Corner

“Anxiety, you Bastard!”

Loosely translated, the Afrikaans word, “bliksem” is a bastard.

According to the list of Afrikanserims on Wiki:

  • bliksem – strike, hit, punch; also used as an expression of surprise/emphasis. It derives from the Dutch word for “lightning”, and often occurs in conjunction with donner. Used as a curse in Afrikaans: “Jou bliksem!” (You bastard!)

The Afrikaans language packs a real, lekker punch.

Anyway, back to this anxiety issue of mine.

I’ve always been a nervous and shy person, but with age, it seems to be getting worse.

To me, anxiety is that little niggle that sits between my shoulder blades, there at the back of my neck, where the hairs stand up to attention.  It whispers to me, constantly- it’s breath heavy, bringing with it with a deep kind of fear. Normal activities like driving down the road becomes a stressful event. At every stop street, my heart…

View original post 577 more words

2 responses to “Anxiety, jou Bliksem!

  1. Oh my friend, how I relate to this post SO much. I am SO SO SO sorry about how it all went down at the photo shoot. (That’s very exciting your handsome boy was chosen!!!!)

    I’ve had a terrible anxiety problem for many years. I first tried “overcoming” it with alcohol. That didn’t do the trick, so then I became addicted to benzodiazepines (Valium, Xanax, Klonopin) until I had a car accident that nearly killed me and Marilla. An angel was watching over us that day – I can barely think about it for more than 2 seconds.

    I read a book called “Death Grip” about a famous editor/climber who became addicted to benzos but he got off them. I tapered off benzos after researching how to best do it, because it’s extremely hard to pull off. I wound up using the Ashton Manual as a tapering guide, which anyone can download off the internet.I have been benzo-free ever since.

    I don’t know how to overcome anxiety. I’ve tried the holistic route: meditation, yoga… the spiritual route: going to a religious center, and exercise. These days I use Rescue Remedy and Boron homeopathic pills & essential oils like lavender. They are cheap (always a good thing!) and they help me, but the effect is small compared to drugs! But I’ll never return to the meds for anxiety since I have such an addictive personality. :0

    Please let us know if you come across anything that helps you!!! Thank you for baring your innermost experiences here, my brave & beautiful Yvette!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Know all about that, also got addicted to benzos, (in big quantities), tapered off, very very difficult, could cope without them in a non-stress environment, but as soon as I started working, I needed them again. I even out on 5 – 10 mg a day, and I am fortunate that I can control that.

    Alazam/Xanax is very dangerous, short-acting, and very addictive. So not a road I go on.

    Stay strong. Anxiety can knee-cap you.

    Liked by 1 person

We love comments (hint hint).

